What is session replay?

Unlike a video recording which literally records a user’s screen, session replay is a reproduction of a user’s interactions on your site exactly how they experienced it.

It takes all the logged user events, like mouse movements, clicks, scrolling, page navigation etc, and puts them together into a reproduction of what the user actually did on the site.

Session replay can be enabled for reported bugs or feedback on your web app or website. When enabled, you'll see exactly what the user was doing when they encountered or reported an issue.

If session replay is available on your plan, once enabled, each feedback submitted will contain session replay of the users activity up to and including the submission of feedback on your web app or website.

A great way to make the most of session replay is for additional context when collecting bugs.

Note: Session replay is only available on the Standard and Growth plans.

How to enable session replay

Session replay can be enabled on a per-project basis.

To enable session replay for your feedback widget head to your projects Widget Settings.

Open the session replay card and toggle session replay for the types of feedback you are collecting.

Viewing feedback sessions

Session replays can be quickly viewed depending on where you are within Userback.

Inbox view

From within the Inbox view when viewing feedback that contains an attached session by clicking the play button on the screenshot thumbnail.

Board View

In board view, quickly identify which feedback have sessions included by the play icon on each card.

Click the play button to view the session replay for that feedback. The session replay will slide in from the right without you needing to load the feedback in the feedback viewer.

Feedback Viewer

Select a feedback full screen to open the feedback viewer where the session replay can also be viewed.

Simply click the Replay button on the bottom toolbar to watch the session replay.

Session replay features

Session replays come with a variety of different features to make it easier for you to view sessions without wasting too much time. You'll be able to skip to specific points in the session along with skipping inactivity and speeding up playback.

These tools are available on the bottom toolbar of the session replay.

The following features are available in session replay

Context settings

Window Size: The window size of the user. This will change dynamically as the users window size changes. Eg. The user resizes their window while navigating.

Console: View any console errors and logs that occurred during the session replay.

Events: View each event that the user did during the session replay. You can quickly skip to any event by selecting the event from the list

Timeline and viewing settings

Viewing of events in the event viewer and timeline can be toggled on and off. Specifically to declutter the event log. For example, remove mouse focus from the timeline and events.

The following items can be toggled on the timeline and events.

  • Mouse Clicks

  • Mouse Focus

  • Window Resize

  • Widget Interaction

  • Text Input

  • Page Navigation

If a user is idle for a period of time, you can select to Skip Inactivity by toggling this setting on and off.

Additionally, a session replay can be viewed at the desired speed from 1x to 8x.

Session Replay Limits

Once your session limit is exceeded, sessions will stop recording until the session limit is reset (see next FAQ). You can subscribe to a monthly allowance of sessions from your Account Settings.

If you're on the Standard or Growth plans, you will need to add sessions to your plan to use the session replay features.

You can view the number of sessions that you have remaining from your Account Settings.

When do session replay limits reset

If you have used all of your session replays, they'll reset on your next billing cycle. You can find out when your next billing cycle is by heading to your Account Settings.

Please note: Your billing cycle will reset if you change plans, add additional users, project or sessions to your account. This will also reset your session replay limit.

How to add or remove additional sessions

Your session replay limit can be managed from your billing plan settings.

Did this answer your question?